Quimbee logo
DMCA.com Protection Status

Idaho CLE requirements

Whether you're an experienced Idaho attorney or newly admitted, here's what you need to know about Idaho’s mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements.

Start your FREE 7-day trial
Access Quimbee's CLE library for free with a 7-day free trial membership.

Idaho CLE requirements - general information

General information
CLE credit requirement30 credits every 3 years
Categories27 General 
3 Ethics and professional responsibility
CLE compliance deadlineDecember 31
CLE reporting deadlineJanuary 31
Approved Quimbee formats15 credits on-demand
CarryoverCarryover is not allowed.
CLE reporting instructionsQuimbee reports the previous week's attendance to the Idaho State Bar each Wednesday. Please retain your certificate as proof of your attendance. You may also access your certificates from our website at any time.

Idaho CLE requirements

What is my requirement as a Idaho-licensed attorney?

Idaho-licensed attorneys are required to complete 30 credits, including 3 ethics and professional responsibility credits every 3 years.

How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?

Idaho-licensed attorneys can complete up to 15 credits through Quimbee's on-demand courses.

How else can I earn CLE credit?

  • Attend approved, live, in-person courses. 
  • Attend approved live, interactive online programs. 
  • Teach an approved CLE course. Attorneys who teach at an approved CLE course will receive 3 credit hours for each hour of teaching. 
  • Publish legal writing that is intended for an attorney audience. Attorneys who publish original writing in a professional legal journal or publication may be granted one credit per 1,000 words. A maximum of 6 writing credits can be used per reporting period.

When must I complete my CLE requirement?

Idaho attorneys must complete 30 credits by December 31 every three years.

Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?

No, carryover is not allowed.


Newly Admitted Attorneys

I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?

In the first 12 months of admission to the Idaho State Bar, newly admitted attorneys are required to complete at least 10 New Admittee Credit-Approved (NAC-Approved) CLE credits. These NAC-Approved CLE credits completed in the first year of admission will be counted towards satisfying the 30 CLE credit hour requirement. 

A new member who has actively practiced law for less than 3 years in any jurisdiction prior to admission to the Idaho State Bar must also complete the New Attorney Program within the first year of admission. 
A newly admitted Idaho attorney’s first reporting period begins on the date of admission to the Bar and ends on December 31 of the third full year following admission.


CLE compliance and reporting

When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Idaho attorneys report their MCLE credits every three years.

How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Idaho attorneys must submit a written Certificate of Compliance to the Idaho State Bar at the end of each 3 year reporting period. The Certificate of Compliance will be provided to each reporting attorney at the end of their reporting period.


Resources

Contact info

Idaho State Bar

PO Box 895 
Boise, ID 83701 
208-334-4500

Rules & Regulations

Idaho State Bar Rules