Quimbee logo
DMCA.com Protection Status

Montana CLE requirements

Whether you're an experienced Montana attorney or newly admitted, here's what you need to know about Montana’s mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements.

Start your FREE 7-day trial
Access Quimbee's CLE library for free with a 7-day free trial membership.

Montana CLE requirements - general information

General information
CLE credit requirement15 credits every year
Categories13 General 
2 Ethics and professionalism
CLE compliance deadlineMarch 31
CLE reporting deadlineMay 15
Approved Quimbee formatsOn-demand
Carryover30 credits
CLE reporting instructionsQuimbee reports the previous week's attendance to the Montana State Bar each week. Quimbee on-demand courses are considered self-study credit and you may earn up to 5 self-study credits per cycle. Please retain this certificate as proof of your attendance. You may also access your certificates from our website at any time.

Montana CLE requirements

What is my requirement as a Montana-licensed attorney?

Montana-licensed attorneys must complete 15 credits, including 2 ethics and professionalism credits.

How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?

Montana attorneys can complete up to 5 credits through Quimbee's on-demand courses.

How else can I earn CLE credit?

  • Attend approved, live, in-person CLE courses. 
  • Attend approved, interactive CLE courses. 
  • Write an article that appears in any law review published by an ABA-accredited law school. 
  • Teach an approved CLE course. 
  • Attend courses taught at an ABA-accredited law school. 
  • Attend in-house courses offered by law firms, corporate legal departments, or similar entities.

When must I complete my CLE requirement?

Montana attorneys must complete their CLE requirement by March 31.

Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?

Yes, up to 30 credits may be carried over to the following two reporting cycles. Only up to 4 live or interactive ethics credits may be carried over.

Newly Admitted Attorneys

I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?

Newly admitted Montana attorneys are not required to complete any CLE credits during the reporting year in which they are admitted to the State Bar of Montana.

CLE compliance and reporting

When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Montana attorneys should email copies of their certificates after they have completed a course.

How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Quimbee reports credit for Montana attorneys on a weekly basis. Montana attorneys may also email copies of certificates of attendance or participation to [email protected] throughout the year. After the reporting cycle ends on March 31, attorneys will receive a transcript of all CLE credits that have been posted over the past year. Attorneys can use the form to make any changes and only need to return it to the Montana CLE commission by May 15 if there are changes to be made.

Resources

Contact info

Montana Commission of CLE 
33 South Last Chance Gulch, Suite 1B 
PO Box 577 
Helena, MT 59624 
406-442-7660