Quimbee logo
DMCA.com Protection Status

Nebraska CLE requirements

Whether you're an experienced Nebraska attorney or newly admitted, here's what you need to know about Nebraska’s mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements.

Start your FREE 7-day trial
Access Quimbee's CLE library for free with a 7-day free trial membership.

Nebraska CLE requirements - general information

General information
CLE credit requirement10 credits every year
Categories8 General CLE 
CLE compliance deadlineDecember 31
CLE reporting deadlineJanuary 20
Approved Quimbee formatsCOVID-19 Update: For 2021, all 10 credits may be earned through distance learning courses.

On-demand (limit 5)
Carryover5 live, general CLE credits
CLE reporting instructionsQuimbee reports the previous week's attendance to the Nebraska Supreme Court through their website each Wednesday. Please retain your certificate as proof of your attendance. You may also access your certificate from our website at any time.

Nebraska CLE requirements

What is my requirement as a Nebraska-licensed attorney?

Nebraska-licensed attorneys are required to complete 10 credits each year, including 2 ethics and professionalism credits.

How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?

COVID-19 Update: In response to the coronavirus/COVID-19 pandemic, the Nebraska Supreme Court has determined it necessary to allow all 10 required credits to be obtained without attending live education (regular/traditional class type) for 2022.  As attorneys file annual reports for 2022 in December, reports that have no live education will be accepted when they contain at least 10 total credits including 2 that qualify as professional responsibility/ethics.  Contact the MCLE Help Desk at 402.471.3137 or [email protected] with any questions about CLE requirements for attorneys or submission and reporting procedures for CLE sponsors.

Nebraska-licensed attorneys may complete 5 credits through Quimbee's on-demand courses.

How else can I earn CLE credit?

  • Attend approved, live, in-person CLE courses. 
  • Attend approved "in-house" CLE courses. 
  • Teach pre-approved CLE courses. 
  • Attend J.D. or graduate-level law courses offered by American Bar Association (ABA)-accredited law school.

When must I complete my CLE requirement?

Nebraska attorneys must complete their CLE requirement by December 31.

Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?

Yes, up to 5 general credits from live CLE courses may be carried over to the following reporting cycle.

Newly Admitted Attorneys

I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?

Newly admitted Nebraska attorneys begin their CLE requirement on January 1 of the year following admission to the Nebraska State Bar Association.Up to 5 live credits earned in the year of admission may be carried over into their first reporting cycle.

CLE compliance and reporting

When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

In October of each year, attorneys will receive an email notification to review their online accounts and make sure all credits have been reported.

How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Nebraska attorneys must submit a report through the use of the on-line Nebraska MCLE system, showing that they have completed the MCLE requirement. This report must be submitted not later than January 31.

Resources

Contact info

Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Attorney Services Divisions 
13808 Normal Blvd.
Lincoln, NE 68506 
402-471-3137 

Rules & Regulations

Nebraska CLE Rules