Quimbee logo
DMCA.com Protection Status

New Mexico CLE requirements

Whether you're an experienced New Mexico attorney or newly admitted, here's what you need to know about New Mexico’s mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements.

Start your FREE 7-day trial
Access Quimbee's CLE library for free with a 7-day free trial membership.

New Mexico CLE requirements - general information

General information
CLE credit requirement12 credits every year
Categories10 General 
2 Ethics and professionalism
CLE compliance deadlineDecember 31
CLE reporting deadlineJanuary 31
Approved Quimbee formatsOn-demand
Carryover12 credits
CLE reporting instructionsQuimbee reports the previous week's attendance to the State Bar of New Mexico each Wednesday. Please retain your certificate as proof of your attendance. You may also access your certificate from our website at any time.

New Mexico CLE requirements

What is my requirement as a New Mexico-licensed attorney?

New Mexico attorneys are required to complete 12 credits, including 2 ethics and/or professionalism credits, each year.

How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?

New Mexico attorneys can complete up to four credits through Quimbee's on-demand courses.

How else can I earn CLE credit?

  • Attend approved live courses. 
  • Teach an approved course. 
  • Attend the Board of Bar Examiners Course entitled “Introduction to the Practice of Law in New Mexico (Reciprocity).” 
  • Mentor in the Bridge-the-Gap Program Author or co-author written material that is published in a legal periodical, journal, book or treatise approved by the board.

When must I complete my CLE requirement?

New Mexico attorneys must complete their CLE requirement by December 31.

Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?

Yes, New Mexico attorneys may carry over up to 12 credits to the following reporting cycle.

Newly Admitted Attorneys

I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?

Newly admitted New Mexico attorneys who have practiced less than two years in another jurisdiction are required to complete the Bridge the Gap (BTG) Mentorship program in their first full year of practice. Through BTG new attorneys receive MCLE credits required for their first year of practice.

CLE compliance and reporting

When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Providers report attendance to the State Bar of New Mexico. New Mexico attorneys must ensure that all completed CLE credits for the previous reporting cycle have been reported to the State Bar of New Mexico by January 31.

How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

New Mexico attorneys can check their MCLE transcripts at any time by logging into their attorney profile.

Resources

Contact info

State Bar of New Mexico 
5121 Masthead St NE 
Albuquerque, NM 87199 
505-797-6044