Quimbee logo
DMCA.com Protection Status

North Dakota CLE requirements

Whether you're an experienced North Dakota attorney or newly admitted, here's what you need to know about North Dakota’s mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements.

Start your FREE 7-day trial
Access Quimbee's CLE library for free with a 7-day free trial membership.

North Dakota CLE requirements - general information

General information
CLE credit requirement

45 credits every 3 years

Categories

42 General CLE

3 Ethics CLE

CLE compliance deadline
COVID-19 Update: The compliance deadline has been extended to September 1 for Group 3.

June 30
CLE reporting deadline
COVID-19 Update: The reporting deadline has been extended to October 1 for Group 3.

 July 31
Approved Quimbee formats

COVID-19 Update: Attorneys in Reporting Group 3 may complete some or all of the requirements through self-study courses.


On-demand (considered self-study, limit 15)

Carryover

15 general CLE credits

CLE reporting instructionsNorth Dakota is a self-reporting jurisdiction and Quimbee does not report your completed courses to the State Bar Association of North Dakota. Quimbee on-demand courses are considered self-study credit and you may earn up to 15 self-study credits each reporting cycle. 

COVID-19 Update: attorneys in reporting group 3, who report in 2020, may earn all of the required 45 credits through self-study credit. Please retain this certificate as proof of your attendance. You may also access your certificates from our website at any time.

North Dakota CLE requirements

What is my requirement as a North Dakota-licensed attorney?

North Dakota attorneys are required to complete 45 credits every 3 years, including 3 ethics CLE credits.

How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?

COVID-19 Update: Attorneys in Reporting Group 3 may complete some or all of the requirements through self-study courses.

North Dakota attorneys can complete up to 15 credits through Quimbee’s on-demand courses.

How else can I earn CLE credit?

  • Attend approved, live CLE courses.
  • Teach an approved CLE course.
  • Attend arbitration/mediation training.
  • Complete Bar Review courses.
  • Teaching law school courses at an ABA-approved law school.
  • Attend graduate-level courses.
  • Publish law review and other legal publications.
  • Perform pro bono work.
  • Participate in the State Bar Association of North Dakota Mentorship Program.

When must I complete my CLE requirement?

COVID-19 Update: The 2020 compliance deadline has been extended to September 1 for Group 3.


North Dakota attorneys must complete their CLE requirement by June 30 of the last year of their 3-year reporting cycle.

Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?

Yes, up to 15 general credits may be carried over to the following reporting cycle.


Newly Admitted Attorneys

I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?

Newly admitted attorneys may carry over credits completed after August 1 of the year of their admission.


CLE compliance and reporting

When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

North Dakota attorneys must certify their compliance with the CLE requirement by July 31 of the last year of their reporting period.

How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

North Dakota attorneys should log into their profile and report completion of self-study credits. Attorneys must also certify completion of the requirement on the Report of Compliance and return it to the North Dakota Commission on CLE by July 31 of their reporting year.


Resources

Contact info

North Dakota CLE Commission 

PO Box 2136 

Bismark, ND 58502 

701-255-1404