Rhode Island CLE requirements

Whether you're an experienced Rhode Island attorney or newly admitted, here's what you need to know about Rhode Island’s mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements.

Start your free 7-day trialAccess Quimbee's CLE library for free with a 7-day free trial membership.

Rhode Island CLE requirements - general information

General information
CLE credit requirement10 credits every year
Categories8 General CLE 
CLE compliance deadline
June 30
CLE reporting deadlineJune 30
Approved Quimbee formats

On-demand

Live webcasts

Carryover10 credits
CLE reporting instructionsQuimbee reports the previous week's attendance for approved, on-demand courses to the Supreme Court of Rhode Island each Wednesday. Please retain this certificate as proof of your attendance. You may also access your certificates from our website at any time.

Rhode Island CLE requirements

What is my requirement as a Rhode Island-licensed attorney?

Rhode Island attorneys must complete 10 credits each year, including 2 ethics CLE credits.

How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?

Rhode Island-licensed attorneys can complete up to 6 CLE credits through Quimbee's on-demand courses and at least four live webcasts. Quimbee does get select on-demand courses approved. All other courses can be applied for individually by logging on to their account and filling out Appendix D.

How else can I earn CLE credit?

  • Attend approved, live CLE courses. 
  • Teach an approved CLE course. Publish legal articles. 
  • Participate as judge, facilitator, or trainer in a moot/mock trial/deposition. 
  • Attend law school courses at an ABA-accredited law school.

When must I complete my CLE requirement?

Rhode Island attorneys must complete their CLE requirement by June 30 each year.

Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?

Yes, up to 10 credits can be carried over to the following reporting cycle.

Newly Admitted Attorneys

I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?

Newly admitted Rhode Island attorneys are exempt from the CLE requirement during the year in which they are admitted and the following year. They must complete the Bridge the Gap program by the end of the first, full MCLE calendar year after being admitted to the Rhode Island Bar.

CLE compliance and reporting

When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Quimbee reports attendance for the previous week to the Rhode Island Supreme Court each Wednesday.

How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Rhode Island attorneys must certify their MCLE compliance by June 30 of each year through Rhode Island's MCLE Portal.

Resources

Contact info

Rhode Island MCLE Commission
John E. Fogarty Judicial Annex 
24 Weybosset Street, 3rd Floor 
Providence, RI 02903 
401-222-4942 

Rules & Regulations

Rhode Island CLE Rules