Quimbee logo
DMCA.com Protection Status

Utah CLE requirements

Whether you're an experienced Utah attorney or newly admitted, here's what you need to know about Utah’s mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements.

Start your FREE 7-day trial
Access Quimbee's CLE library for free with a 7-day free trial membership.

Utah CLE requirements - general information

General information
CLE credit requirement12 credits each year
Categories10 General CLE
CLE compliance deadlineJune 30
CLE reporting deadline
July 31
Approved Quimbee formats
COVID-19 Update: Utah will allow all online courses until June 1st of 2023, at which point live credit will be reintroduced.

On-demand (limit 6)
CarryoverCarryover is not allowed.
CLE reporting instructionsQuimbee reports the previous week's attendance to Utah State Board of Continuing Legal Education each Wednesday. Please retain your certificate as proof of your attendance. You may also access your certificates from our website at any time.

Utah CLE requirements

What is my requirement as a Utah-licensed attorney?

Utah attorneys must complete 12 credits, including 1 ethics CLE credits and 1 professionalism CLE credit, each year.

How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?

COVID-19 Update: Utah will allow all online courses until June 1st of 2023, at which point live credit will be reintroduced.

Utah-licensed attorneys can complete 6 credits through Quimbee's on-demand courses.

How else can I earn CLE credit?

  • Attend approved, live, in-person CLE courses. 
  • Teach approved CLE courses. Publish legal articles. 
  • Teach law school courses at an approved law school. 
  • Speak in a community outreach capacity.

When must I complete my CLE requirement?

Utah attorneys must complete their CLE requirement by June 30 of their reporting year.

Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?

No, carryover is not allowed.

Newly Admitted Attorneys

I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?

Newly admitted Utah attorneys must complete a 12-month NLTP mentoring term during their first year of admission to the Bar, attend the New Lawyer Ethics Program, and complete an additional 12 approved CLE courses.

CLE compliance and reporting

When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Providers report attendance to the Utah State Board of Continuing Legal Education.

How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Utah attorneys must file a Certificate of Compliance with the Utah CLE Board by July 31 of their reporting year.

Resources

Contact info

Utah Law & Justice Center 
645 S. 200 East, Suite 312 
Salt Lake City, UT 84111-3834 
801-297-7035

Rules & Regulations

Utah MCLE Rules