Quimbee logo
DMCA.com Protection Status

Virginia CLE requirements

Whether you're an experienced Virginia attorney or newly admitted, here's what you need to know about Virginia’s mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements.

Start your FREE 7-day trial
Access Quimbee's CLE library for free with a 7-day free trial membership.

Virginia CLE requirements - general information

General information
CLE credit requirement

12 credits every year

Categories

10 General

2 Ethics

CLE compliance deadline

COVID-19 UPDATE: The Supreme Court of Virginia has extended the CLE compliance deadline for 2020 to December 31, 2020.

October 31

CLE reporting deadline

COVID-19 UPDATE: The Supreme Court of Virginia has extended the CLE reporting deadline for 2020 to February 15, 2021.

December 15

Approved Quimbee formats

Quimbee CLE courses for Virginia attorneys are coming soon. Click here to be notified via email.

On-demand (limit 8 credits)

Carryover

12 credits, including 2 ethics credits

CLE reporting instructions

Virginia attorneys should certify their attendance online with a Virginia course ID number provided by the course sponsor.

Virginia CLE requirements

What is my requirement as a Virginia-licensed attorney?

Virginia attorneys must complete 12 credits, including 2 ethics credits, each year.

How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?

Quimbee CLE courses for Virginia attorneys are now available!

Virginia attorneys can complete up to 8 credits through Quimbee’s on-demand courses.

How else can I earn CLE credit?

  • Attend approved live courses.

  • Teach approved CLE courses.

  • Attend law school classes.

When must I complete my CLE requirement?

Virginia attorneys must complete their CLE requirement by October 31 each year.

Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?

Yes, up to 12 credits, including 2 ethics credits may be carried over to the following reporting cycle. Up to 4 credits may be applied to the minimum live, interactive requirement.


Newly Admitted Attorneys

I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?

Newly admitted Virginia attorneys are exempt from the CLE requirement during the reporting period in which they are admitted.


CLE compliance and reporting

When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Virginia attorneys must certify compliance by December 15 each year.

How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Virginia attorneys should certify their attendance online with a Virginia course ID number provided by the course sponsor. A copy of all forms should be kept for two years.


Resources

Contact info

Virginia State Bar 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 700

Richmond, VA 23219

Rules & Regulations

VA MCLE Regulations