Quimbee logo
DMCA.com Protection Status

Alabama CLE requirements

Whether you're an experienced Alabama attorney or newly admitted, here's what you need to know about Alabama’s mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements.

Start your FREE 7-day trial
Access Quimbee's CLE library for free with a 7-day free trial membership.

Alabama CLE requirements - general information

General information
CLE credit requirement

12 credits annually

Categories

11 General CLE credits

1 Ethics CLE credit

CLE compliance deadlineDecember 31
CLE reporting deadlineFebruary 15
Approved Quimbee formats6 credits on-demand

COVID-19 Update: The Alabama State Bar’s MCLE Commission has extended its suspension of MCLE Regulation 3.1 through Dec. 31, 2022, allowing Alabama attorneys to satisfy their 2022 requirement with 12 approved on-demand courses.
Carryover12 credits, including 1 ethics CLE credit
CLE reporting instructions

Quimbee reports the previous week's attendance to the Alabama State Bar each Wednesday. Please retain your certificate as proof of your attendance. You may also access your certificates from our website at any time.

Alabama CLE requirements

What is my requirement as a Alabama-licensed attorney?

Alabama attorneys are required to complete 12 MCLE credits each year, including 1 ethics CLE credit.


How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?

Alabama-licensed attorneys can complete up to 6 credits through Quimbee's on-demand courses.

COVID-19 Update: The Alabama State Bar’s MCLE Commission has extended its suspension of MCLE Regulation 3.1 through Dec. 31, 2022, allowing Alabama attorneys to satisfy their 2022 requirement with 12 approved on-demand courses.

How else can I earn CLE credit?

  • Teach at an approved continuing legal education activity.

  • Teach a course in an ABA- or AALS-approved law school or any other law school approved by the MCLE Commission. Alabama-licensed attorneys who teach at an approved law school will receive six hours of MCLE credit for each hour of academic credit.

  • Publish an article in a national law journal. Attorneys who publish an article can receive up to 12 hours of MCLE credit.

  • Serve as a bar examiner in Alabama or in any sister state. Attorneys who serve as a bar examiner during a given year will receive 12 hours of MCLE credit.

  • Enroll in education of a postgraduate nature (for credit or by audit) in an accredited law school. Attorneys will receive one MCLE credit for each hour earned.

  • Attend the Alabama State Bar annual business meeting. Attorneys who attend this meeting will receive two MCLE credits.

  • Provide pro bono legal assistance exclusively through an approved Pro Bono Provider. Attorneys will receive one MCLE credit for every six hours of pro bono work completed.

When must I complete my CLE requirement?

MCLE credits must be completed by December 31 of each year.

Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?

Yes, up to 12 hours of excess credit, including one ethics CLE credit, may be carried over to the following reporting cycle.


Newly Admitted Attorneys

I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?

Alabama newly admitted attorneys are exempt from completing the MCLE requirement during the year in which they are admitted. Newly admitted attorneys are able to earn CLE credit after they are admitted to the Alabama State Bar and carryover up to 12 hours of credit into their first reporting cycle.


CLE compliance and reporting

When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Alabama CLE credits must be reported by February 15.

How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

CLE course sponsors are responsible for reporting attendance to the Alabama State Bar. Attorneys can check their online transcript by logging into their Alabama State Bar account. Attorneys who have not completed their requirements will receive a notice of non-compliance.


Resources

Contact info

Alabama State Bar 
415 Dexter Avenue 
Montgomery, AL 36104 
334-517-2120 
[email protected]