Quimbee logo
DMCA.com Protection Status

Florida CLE requirements

Whether you're an experienced Florida attorney or newly admitted, here's what you need to know about Florida’s mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements.

Start your FREE 7-day trial
Access Quimbee's CLE library for free with a 7-day free trial membership.

Florida CLE requirements - general information

General information
CLE credit requirement33 credits every 3 years
Categories1 professionalism 
4 legal ethics CLE, professionalism CLE, bias elimination, substance abuse, or mental illness awareness CLE 
CLE compliance deadlineEach attorney is assigned a date to complete CLE credits. Dates are staggered to balance the number of members reporting each month.
CLE reporting deadlineMust report by the last day of assigned month.
Approved Quimbee formatsQuimbee CLE courses for Florida attorneys are coming soon. Click here to be notified via email.
CarryoverNo, carryover is not allowed.
CLE reporting instructionsAttorneys must report their own attendance to the Florida Bar by logging in to their member portal.

Florida CLE requirements

What is my requirement as a Florida-licensed attorney?

Florida-licensed attorneys must complete 33 credits every 3 years. Those 33 credits must include 5 credits in the areas of ethics CLE, professionalism CLE, bias elimination, substance abuse, or mental illness awareness and 3 credits in technology CLE.

How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?

Quimbee CLE courses for Florida attorneys are coming soon. Click here to be notified via email.

How else can I earn CLE credit?

  • Attend approved CLE courses, in person or delivered via live or recorded technology.

  • Lecturing at an approved CLE program

  • Serving as a workshop leader or panel member

  • Writing and publishing in a professional publication or journal

  • Teaching (graduate law or law school courses)

  • University attendance (graduate law or law school courses)

When must I complete my CLE requirement?

Each member of the Florida Bar is assigned a date to complete CLE credits. Dates are staggered to balance the number of members reporting each month. At least three months prior to the end of your reporting cycle, you will receive an email reminding you of your due date.

Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?

No, carryover is not allowed.


Newly Admitted Attorneys

I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?

Newly admitted Florida attorneys must complete two phases of the Basic Skills Course Requirement. Phase I must be completed within 12 months of being admitted to the Florida Bar.


CLE compliance and reporting

When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Florida attorneys must by report that they have completed their CLE requirement by the last day of the member’s assigned month.

How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Throughout the reporting cycle, Florida attorneys can post the CLE credits that they earn by logging in to their Member Portal and entering the course reference number from the course provider.


Resources

Contact info

Legal Specialization & CLE 
650 Apalachee Parkway 
Tallahassee, FL 32399-2300 
850-561-5600