Quimbee logo
DMCA.com Protection Status

Georgia CLE requirements

Whether you're an experienced Georgia attorney or newly admitted, here's what you need to know about Georgia’s mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements.

Start your FREE 7-day trial
Access Quimbee's CLE library for free with a 7-day free trial membership.

Georgia CLE requirements - general information

General information
CLE credit requirement

12 credits annually

Categories

1 Ethics CLE

1 Professionalism CLE

3 Trial CLE (for trial attorneys only)


CLE compliance deadline

December 31

CLE reporting deadline

March 31

Approved Quimbee formats

On-demand

Carryover

12 credits with the following limitations:

CLE reporting instructions

Quimbee reports the previous week's attendance to the State Bar of Georgia Commission on Continuing Lawyer Competency each Wednesday. Please retain your certificate as proof of your attendance. You may also access your certificates from our website at any time.

Georgia CLE requirements

What is my requirement as a Georgia-licensed attorney?

Georgia-licensed attorneys must complete 12 credits each year, including 1 ethics CLE credit, 1 professionalism CLE credit and 3 trial skills CLE credits.

How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?

UPDATE: As of October 22, 2021, the Georgia CCLC permanently changed the regulation related to distance learning. Going forward lawyers can complete all or any portion of their CLE requirement through approved distance learning CLE programs.

Georgia-licensed attorneys can complete all  of their required credits through Quimbee’s on-demand courses.

How else can I earn CLE credit?

  • Attend live, in-person accredited programs.

  • Attend self-study/in-house programs.

    • Distance learning programs, including online computer programs.

    • Trial observation

    • In-house courses provided by an attorney’s law firm.

  • Teach accredited CLE programs. Attorneys can earn 3 credits for each hour of presentation.

  • Write legal articles. Attorneys may earn up to 6 credits for writing legal articles.

  • Attend law school courses. Attorneys can earn one half hour of credit for every 60 minutes of instruction.

When must I complete my CLE requirement?

MCLE credits must be completed by December 31 each year.

Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?

Yes, attorneys may carry up to 12 hours to the next reporting cycle. Attorneys may not carry more than 2 ethics CLE credits, 2 professionalism CLE credits, and 3 trial skills CLE credits.


Newly Admitted Attorneys

I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?

New members of the Georgia Bar must complete the Transition Into Law Practice Program by the end of the calendar year following the year in which they were admitted. Completion of the Transition Into Law Practice Program will satisfy Georgia’s MCLE requirement for the year of admission and the following year.


CLE compliance and reporting

When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Course sponsors are responsible for reporting attorney attendance. While credits should be completed by 12/31 each year, insufficient credits can be made up during the grace period ending March 31.

How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Quimbee reports the previous week’s attendance to the State Bar of Georgia each Wednesday. Attorneys can monitor their records throughout the year by logging into their member profile.


Resources

Contact info

GA Commission of Continuing Lawyer Competency 

50 Hurt Plaza 

Atlanta, GA 30303 

404-527-8700 

[email protected]