Quimbee logo
DMCA.com Protection Status

Maine CLE requirements

Whether you're an experienced Maine attorney or newly admitted, here's what you need to know about Maine’s mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements.

Start your FREE 7-day trial
Access Quimbee's CLE library for free with a 7-day free trial membership.

Maine CLE requirements - general information

General information
CLE credit requirement12 credits every year
Categories10 General 
1 Ethics (Must be live) 
1 Harassment and discrimination (Must be live)
CLE compliance deadlineDecember 31
CLE reporting deadlineLast business day in February
Approved Quimbee formatsOn-demand
Carryover10 credits, excluding Ethics and Harassment & Discrimination credit
CLE reporting instructionsQuimbee reports the previous week's attendance to the Maine Board Overseers of the Bar each Wednesday. Please retain your certificate as proof of your attendance. You may also access your certificate from our website at any time.

Maine CLE requirements

What is my requirement as a Maine-licensed attorney?

Maine-licensed attorneys must complete 12 credits, including 1 ethics credit and 1 harassment and discrimination credit each year.

How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?

5 out of the 12 required CLE hours for Maine can be completed through online providers, including Quimbee.

How else can I earn CLE credit?

  • Attend a live, approved in-person CLE course. 
  • Attend live, approved satellite/groupcast, webcast/webinar or teleseminar CLE courses. 
  • Attend approved moderated video or webcast/webinar replays of CLE courses. 
  • Complete self-study CLE activities: 
    • Independent Study - viewing or listening to a pre-recorded CLE audio, video, digital media, or other such programs; 
    • Authorship - authoring or co-authoring written material that is published in a legal periodical, journal, book, or treatise approved by the CLE Committee. 
    • Volunteer Service – completing volunteer service as members of a board, commission, or committee established by the Court or the Board.

When must I complete my CLE requirement?

Maine attorneys must complete their MCLE requirement by December 31.

Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?

Yes, up to 10 credits, excluding Ethics and Harassment & Discrimination credit, may be carried over to the following reporting cycle.

Newly Admitted Attorneys

I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?

Attorneys admitted for less than three months of the calendar year are exempt from the MCLE requirement. New admittees to the Maine bar who complete an accredited new attorney program that focuses on basic skills and substantive law during the year in which they are admitted are exempt for that year and the following calendar year.

CLE compliance and reporting

When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Maine attorneys must certify their compliance with the MCLE requirement for the previous year beginning January 1.

How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Providers report attendance to the Maine Board Overseers of the Bar.

Resources

Contact info

Board of Overseers of the Bar 
PO Box 527 
Augusta, ME 14332 
207-622-7554