Mississippi CLE requirements - general information
|CLE credit requirement||12 credits every year|
|Categories||11 General CLE |
1 Ethics CLE
, professional responsibility, professionalism, malpractice prevention, substance abuse or mental health
|CLE compliance deadline||July 31|
|CLE reporting deadline||August 15|
|Approved Quimbee formats|
COVID-19 UPDATE: All credits may be obtained online, including credits earned by newly admitted attorneys who are to complete the program on July 31st, 2022.
On-demand (limit 6)
|Carryover||12 general CLE credits|
|CLE reporting instructions||Mississippi is a self-reporting jurisdiction and Quimbee does not report your completed courses to the Mississippi Commission on Continuing Legal Education. Credits must be reported on the CLE Annual Report Statement. Please retain your certificate as proof of your attendance. You may also access your certificate from our website at any time.|
Mississippi CLE requirements
What is my requirement as a Mississippi-licensed attorney?Mississippi-licensed attorneys must complete 12 credits each year, including 1 credit in the areas of ethics, professional responsibility, professionalism, malpractice prevention, substance abuse or mental health.
How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?
COVID-19 UPDATE: All credits may be obtained online, including
credits earned by newly admitted attorneys who are to complete the
program on July 31st, 2022.
Mississippi-licensed attorneys can complete up to 6 credits through Quimbee's on-demand courses.
How else can I earn CLE credit?
- Attend an approved, live, in-person CLE program.
- Teach an approved CLE program
Teach a course in an ABA or AALS approved law school.
- Attend a course at an ABA or AALS accredited law school.
- Write a law journal article published by an ABA or AALS approved law school.
- Serve as a member of the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions or as a bar examiner.
- Serve as a member of the Committee on Professional Responsibility, the Ethics Committee, the Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee, or the Professionalism Committee of the Mississippi Bar.
- Enroll in a bar review course approved by the Mississippi CLE Commission.
- Serve as a member of the Supreme Court Advisory Committee on Rules.
- Serve as a member of the Model Civil Jury Instructions Committee or the Model Criminal Jury Instruction Committee.
- Serve as Lieutenant Governor of the State of Mississippi or as a member of the Mississippi Legislature.
When must I complete my CLE requirement?Mississippi attorneys must complete their MCLE requirement by July 31.
Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?
Yes, Mississippi attorneys may carry over up to 12 general CLE
credits to the next reporting cycle.
Newly Admitted Attorneys
I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?Newly admitted Mississippi attorneys must complete an approved new-lawyer program by the end of the second CLE year occurring after their date of admission. The new-lawyer program consists of 12 hours of CLE credit, including 6 hours of basic skills and 6 hours of ethics/professionalism. This program satisfies the newly admitted attorney’s CLE requirement for the CLE year of admission and the next succeeding CLE year.
CLE compliance and reporting
When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?Mississippi attorneys must report compliance with the MCLE requirement by August 15 each year.
How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?The Mississippi CLE Annual Report Statement is mailed out to attorneys in June of each year. This report will show any CLE that has been reported to the CLE Commission at the time of its printing and any additional CLE earned for the year may be added to this form.