Quimbee logo
DMCA.com Protection Status

North Carolina CLE requirements

Whether you're an experienced North Carolina attorney or newly admitted, here's what you need to know about North Carolina’s mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements.

Start your FREE 7-day trial
Access Quimbee's CLE library for free with a 7-day free trial membership.

North Carolina CLE requirements - general information

General information
CLE credit requirement

12 credits every year

Categories

9 General CLE

2 Ethics CLE

1 Technology CLE

1 Substance abuse CLE (1 every 3 years)

CLE compliance deadline

December 31

CLE reporting deadline

February 28

Approved Quimbee formats

On-demand

Carryover

12 credits

CLE reporting instructionsQuimbee reports the previous week's attendance to the North Carolina State Bar Board of Continuing Legal Education each Wednesday. Please retain your certificate as proof of your attendance. You may also access your certificates from our website at any time.

North Carolina CLE requirements

What is my requirement as a North Carolina-licensed attorney?

North Carolina attorneys must complete 12 credits, including 2 professional responsibility credits and 1 technology credit, each year. They must complete 1 substance abuse CLE credit every 3 years.

How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?

Attorneys can complete all 12 credits through Quimbee’s on-demand courses.

How else can I earn CLE credit?

  • Attend approved, live CLE courses.
  • Teach an approved CLE course.
  • Attend courses offered by an ABA-accredited law school.

When must I complete my CLE requirement?

North Carolina attorneys must complete their CLE requirement by December 31.

Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?

Yes, up to 12 credits may be carried over to the following reporting cycle.


Newly Admitted Attorneys

I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?

Newly admitted North Carolina attorneys must complete the 12-hour Professionalism for New Attorneys program. To receive credit for the program, they must also complete a written evaluation provided by the sponsor. The program consists of 12 hours of training in subjects designated by the North Carolina State Bar, including professional responsibility, professionalism, and law-office management.


CLE compliance and reporting

When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Quimbee reports the previous week’s attendance to the North Carolina State Bar Board of Continuing Legal Education each Wednesday.

How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

In January each year, North Carolina attorneys will receive an annual report form showing all CLE credits for the preceding reporting cycle. This form must be signed and returned to the CLE department by February 28.


Resources

Contact info

North Carolina Bar 
P.O. Box 26148 
Raleigh, NC 27611 
919-733-0123 
919-821-9168 
[email protected]