Oregon CLE requirements - general information
|CLE credit requirement||45 credits every 3 years|
|Categories||38 General CLE|
1 Child and elder abuse reporting
|CLE compliance deadline||April 30|
|CLE reporting deadline||May 31|
|Approved Quimbee formats||On-demand|
|Carryover||15 credits (limit 6 ethics CLE credits)|
|CLE reporting instructions||Quimbee reports the previous week's attendance to the Oregon State Bar each Wednesday. Please retain your certificate as proof of your attendance. You may also access your certificates from our website at any time.|
Oregon CLE requirements
How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?
Quimbee's on-demand courses are considered Category 1 and can fulfill the Oregon CLE requirement.
How else can I earn CLE credit?
Oregon attorneys can complete credits in the following 3 categories:
- Category 1 (attorneys can complete unlimited credits)
- Attend live, group CLE courses.
- Attend law school or graduate-level courses at accredited universities.
- Participate as a mentor or a mentee in the OSB New Lawyer Mentoring Program.
- Serve in the Oregon Legislative Assembly.
- Category 2 (attorneys can complete 20 credits in 3 years)
- Teach an approved CLE course or law school course.
- Publish legal research and writing.
Serve as a volunteer in Oregon’s legal ethics/disciplinary system.
- Serve on an Oregon State Bar jury instructions or court rules committee.
- Serve as a pro tem judge.
- Category 3 (attorneys can complete 6 credits in 3 years)
- Perform personal management assistance activities.
- Volunteer for legal-service activities.
- Complete courses on business/marketing.
- Judge moot court.
- Perform pro bono work.
When must I complete my CLE requirement?Oregon attorneys must complete their requirement by April 30th of their reporting year.
Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?Yes, up to 15 credits, including 6 ethics credits, may be carried over to the following reporting cycle. Excess ethics credits, child and elder abuse reporting credits, and access to justice credits may be carried over as general credits.
Newly Admitted Attorneys
I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?Newly admitted Oregon attorneys must complete 15 credits in the first reporting period after admission, including 2 ethics credits, 1 mental health and substance abuse credit, and 9 practical skills credits. One of the ethics credits must be devoted to Oregon ethics and professionalism, and 4 of the 9 credits in practical skills must be devoted to Oregon practice and procedure. Newly admitted Oregon attorneys must also complete a 3-credit hour OSB-approved introductory course in access to justice.
CLE compliance and reporting
When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?Providers report attendance to the Oregon State Bar. Oregon attorneys can check the MCLE Reporting tab on their Member Dashboard for up-to-date information on the number and types of credit needed.
How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?Providers report attendance to the Oregon State Bar. Oregon attorneys can check the MCLE Reporting tab on their Member Dashboard for up-to-date information on the number and types of credit needed.
Contact infoOregon State Bar
5200 SW Meadows Road
Oswego, OR 97035