Quimbee logo
DMCA.com Protection Status

Texas CLE Requirements

Whether you're an experienced Texas attorney or newly admitted, here's what you need to know about Texas’s mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements.

Texas CLE Requirements - General Information

General Information
CLE credit requirement

15 credits annually

Categories

12 General CLE

3 Ethics CLE

CLE Compliance deadline

The last day of the month preceding the attorney’s birth month

CLE Reporting deadline

The last day of the month preceding the attorney’s birth month

Approved Quimbee formats

On-demand

Carryover

15 credits, including 3 ethics CLE credits

CLE reporting instructions

Quimbee reports the previous week's attendance to the State Bar of Texas through their website each Wednesday. Please retain this certificate as proof of your attendance. You may also access your certificates from our website at any time.

Texas CLE Requirements

Texas-licensed attorneys are required to complete 15 credits, including 3 ethics CLE credits, each year.

All of Quimbee’s on-demand CLE courses can fulfill the Texas CLE requirement. Quimbee’s Texas bundle provides all 15 required credits, including 3 ethics CLE credits.

Attend approved CLE courses, in-person or delivered via live or recorded technology.

Teach at an accredited CLE course. Attorneys may earn credit for actual instruction time and preparation time.

Participate in a mentoring program sponsored by the State Bar of Texas. 

Attorneys may earn a maximum of 5 credits, including 1 ethics credit.

Complete self-study activities. Attorneys can earn a maximum of three credits of self-study credit. Self-study is a CLE activity that is performed by an individual attorney acting alone or while attending non-accredited professional educational activities, including reading legal articles, digests, advance sheets, cases, treatises, statutes and regulations. Self-study also includes attending non-accredited legal education activities and non-legal professional education activities that are relevant to specific areas of law or to the legal practice.

Publish legal written materials. 

Teach at an ABA-accredited law school.

Attend an ABA-accredited law school. Attorneys can earn a maximum of 30 hours attending live, in-person instruction.

Attorneys should complete their CLE requirement by the last day of the month preceding the attorney’s birth month. Attorneys are automatically given a grace period until the end of their birth month to complete and report CLE credits before being subjected to a penalty.

Yes, up to 15 hours, including 3 hours of ethics credits may be carried over to the following reporting cycle.

Newly Admitted Attorneys

Texas newly admitted attorneys report two years after their first birthday following their admission to the Texas State Bar. All new Texas attorneys must complete the Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas within the first year of admission.

CLE Compliance and Reporting

Attorneys should complete their CLE requirement by the last day of the month preceding the attorney’s birth month. Attorneys are automatically given a grace period until the end of their birth month to complete and report CLE credits before being subjected to a penalty.

Attorneys can log into My Bar Page to report CLE credits. Click on the link to “View/Report MCLE Hours.”

Resources

State Bar of Texas

MCLE Department

P.O. Box 13007

Austin, Texas 78711-3007

Phone: 800-204-2222 (ext. 1806)

Fax: 512-427-4423

[email protected]