Quimbee logo
DMCA.com Protection Status

Vermont CLE requirements

Whether you're an experienced Vermont attorney or newly admitted, here's what you need to know about Vermont’s mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements.

Start your FREE 7-day trial
Access Quimbee's CLE library for free with a 7-day free trial membership.

Vermont CLE requirements - general information

General information
CLE credit requirement24 credits every 2 years
Categories20 General CLE 
CLE compliance deadlineJune 30
CLE reporting deadlineJuly 1
Approved Quimbee formats
Covid-19 Update: Per A.O. 49, for the license renewal period ending June 30, 2022, the following MCLE provisions are suspended for the 2020-2022 reporting period: (1) the 6-hour limit on the number of hours for programs delivered as Non Moderated Programming Without Interactivity; (2) the 12-hour minimum number of hours for programs delivered as either Moderated Programming or Non-Moderated Programming With Interactivity as a Key Component; and (3) the limits on the number of hours that can be claimed under all sections of Rule 6.

On-demand
CarryoverExcess credits may be carried over if earned in the second year of the reporting period.
CLE reporting instructionsVermont is a self-reporting jurisdiction and Quimbee does not report your completed courses to the Vermont Supreme Court. Please retain your certificate as proof of your attendance. You may also access your certificates from our website at any time.

Vermont CLE requirements

What is my requirement as a Vermont-licensed attorney?

Vermont attorneys must complete 24 credits, including 2 ethics CLE credits, 1 attorney wellness CLE credit, and 1 diversity and Inclusion CLE credit, every 2 years.

How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?

Covid-19 Update: Per A.O. 49, for the license renewal period ending June 30, 2022, the following MCLE provisions are suspended for the 2020-2022 reporting period: (1) the 6-hour limit on the number of hours for programs delivered as Non Moderated Programming Without Interactivity; (2) the 12-hour minimum number of hours for programs delivered as either Moderated Programming or Non-Moderated Programming With Interactivity as a Key Component; and (3) the limits on the number of hours that can be claimed under all sections of Rule 6.

Vermont attorneys can complete all of their credit requirement through Quimbee’s on-demand courses.

Quimbee is an accredited provider in Vermont.

How else can I earn CLE credit?

  • Attend approved, live CLE courses. 
  • Teach law school courses at an ABA-accredited law school. 
  • Teach legal programs to non-attorneys. Publish legal writing. 
  • Participate in the mentorship program. Serve as an acting judge. 
  • Serve as a moot court judge. 
  • Perform volunteer community work.

When must I complete my CLE requirement?

Vermont attorneys must complete their requirement by June 30 of their reporting year.

Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?

Yes, excess credits may be carried over if earned in the second year of the reporting period.

Newly Admitted Attorneys

I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?

Newly admitted Vermont attorneys must complete 15 credits of specially approved CLE courses on Vermont practice and procedure. At least 6 of the 15 credits must be from live courses. All 15 credits must be completed no earlier than 1 year before and no later than 1 year after admission to the bar. These credits will count toward the MCLE requirement during the first reporting period.

CLE compliance and reporting

When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Vermont attorneys must certify compliance by July 1 of their reporting year.

How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Vermont attorneys must certify compliance with the MCLE requirements on the licensing statement that must be filed at the end of each reporting period.

Resources

Contact info

Vermont MCLE Board 
111 State Street, Suite 9B 
Montpelier, VT 05609-0702 
802-828-3281 

Rules & Regulations

Vermont MCLE Rules