Washington CLE requirements

Whether you're an experienced Washington attorney or newly admitted, here's what you need to know about Washington’s mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements.

Start your free 7-day trialAccess Quimbee's CLE library for free with a 7-day free trial membership.

Washington CLE requirements - general information

General information
CLE credit requirement45 credits every 3 years
Categories

24 Any category

15 Law and legal procedure CLE

6 Ethics CLE

CLE compliance deadline

December 31

CLE reporting deadline

February 1

Approved Quimbee formats

On-demand

Carryover

15 credits, including 2 ethics CLE credits

CLE reporting instructions

Washington attorneys self-report attendance using the MCLE Online System.

Washington CLE requirements

What is my requirement as a Washington-licensed attorney?

Washington attorneys must complete 45 credits, including 15 law and legal procedure credits and 6 ethics CLE credits, every 3 years.

How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?

Washington attorneys can complete all 45 credits through Quimbee’s on-demand courses.

How else can I earn CLE credit?

  • Attend approved, live CLE courses.

  • Attend bar review courses for jurisdictions other than Washington.

  • Attend law school courses.

  • Teach an approved CLE course.

  • Publish legal writing.

  • Teach law school classes.

  • Perform pro bono services.

  • Participate in a mentoring program.

  • Judge and prepare students for moot court, mock trials, and recognized competitions.

When must I complete my CLE requirement?

Washington attorneys must complete their requirements by December 31 of their reporting year.

  • Group 1 (2023-2025)
  • Group 2 (2022-2023 & 2024-2026)
  • Group 3 (2022-2024 & 2025-2027)

Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?

Yes, up to 15 credits, including 2 ethics CLE credits, may be carried over to the following reporting cycle.


Newly Admitted Attorneys

I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?

Newly admitted Washington attorneys are exempt from the CLE requirement during the calendar year in which they are admitted.


CLE compliance and reporting

When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?



Washington attorneys must report CLE credits by February 1 following their reporting year.

How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?

Washington attorneys must self-report their attendance using the MCLE Online System.


Resources

Contact info

WA State Board of CLE 

2101 Fourth Avenue, 4th Floor 

Seattle, WA 98121-2330 

206-733-5987