Play video

Other Countries’ Laws Concerning Indigenous Peoples

Learn about the legal treatment and status of native peoples in Canada, Australia, and New Zealand.


Just like the United States, the countries of Canada, Australia, and New Zealand all have a common-law legal tradition and large indigenous populations. However, unlike the United States, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand are still part of the British Commonwealth. Let’s take a brief look at the legal rights of indigenous communities in these Commonwealth countries.

I. Relationship between Canadian Government and Indigenous Communities

The history of relations between the Canadian government...