Pennsylvania CLE requirements - general information
|CLE credit requirement||12 credits every year|
|Categories||10 General CLE|
|CLE compliance deadline||Compliance deadlines are staggered. |
Group 1 - May 1 through April 30
Group 2 - September 1 through August 31
Group 3 - January 1 through December 31
|CLE reporting deadline||The Pennsylvania CLE Board will send a final compliance notice to each attorney. Disputes to this notice must be received within 30 days.|
|Approved Quimbee formats||COVID-19 Update: The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania has lifted the limit on on-demand courses for 2021 deadlines.|
On-demand (6 credits)
|Carryover||24 live, in-person credits|
|CLE reporting instructions||Quimbee reports the previous week's
attendance to the Pennsylvania Continuing Legal Education Board each Wednesday. Please retain this certificate as proof of your attendance. You
may also access your certificates from our website at any time.|
Pennsylvania CLE requirements
What is my requirement as a Pennsylvania-licensed attorney?
Pennsylvania attorneys must complete 12 credits, including 2 ethics CLE
credits, each year.
How can Quimbee help me complete my CLE requirement?COVID-19 Update: The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania has lifted the limit on on-demand courses for 2021 deadlines.
Attorneys may complete up to 6 credits through Quimbee's on-demand courses.
How else can I earn CLE credit?
- Attend approved, live CLE courses.
- Teach at an approved CLE course.
- Attend a law school class at a law school that is an approved CLE provider.
When must I complete my CLE requirement?
Pennsylvania attorneys CLE compliance deadlines are staggered.
- Group 1 - May 1 through April 30
- Group 2 - September 1 through August 31
- Group 3 - January 1 through December 31
Can I carry over credit from my last reporting cycle?Yes, up to 24 hours, including ethics credits, may be carried over to the next 2 reporting cycles.
Newly Admitted Attorneys
I'm a new attorney. When do I report CLE credit?Newly admitted Pennsylvania attorneys are exempt from the CLE requirement for 12 months, but no more than 24 months, from the date of their Pennsylvania admission, depending upon the compliance group to which the newly admitted lawyer is assigned and the compliance period for that group. Newly admitted attorneys must complete their CLE requirement, including the Bridge the Gap program, by the end of their next succeeding compliance period.
CLE compliance and reporting
When do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?Providers report attendance to the Pennsylvania CLE Board. The Pennsylvania CLE Board will send a final compliance notice to each attorney. Disputes to this notice must be received within 30 days.
How do I report the CLE credits that I have earned?Quimbee reports attendance for the previous week to the Pennsylvania CLE Board each Wednesday.
Contact infoPA CLE Board
Pennsylvania Judicial Center
601 Commonwealth Ave, Suite 3400
PO Box 62495
Harrisburg, PA 17106